PDA

View Full Version : New linked ads



Champs96ws
12-10-2011, 06:56 AM
I wanted to make our members aware of something that I turned on recently. You might notice that after creating a thread or replying to a thread that somehow a link was created in place of a word you used.

No need to worry, nobody edited your post. It's the software running in the background that created them. I'm sure you have seen this on other sites/blogs. We are testing it to see if it can help pay the bills around here :)

If you hoover over the link you will see that is states link added by VigLink. These will show up for places like ebay.com and amazon.com, when clicked they do not go to the users ebay page but instead I believe it goes to that sites main page or the search page.

Thanks,
Peter

brewerfan34
12-22-2011, 09:40 PM
No need to worry, nobody edited your post. It's the software running in the background that created them. I'm sure you have seen this on other sites/blogs. We are testing it to see if it can help pay the bills around here :)


I'm getting used to the links and don't mind them. Does The Bench benefit financially from simply having the links? Or do members need to click on them to help drive traffic to the sites?

Thanks,

Frank

Champs96ws
12-22-2011, 09:54 PM
Any financial benefit comes from any sale that results from clicking on a link. It doesn't have to be the linked product, it will "track" you during your visit and account for any purchase you might make.

Thanks,
Peter

oldmarine0311
12-22-2011, 10:41 PM
makes one wonder if this isnt part of the recent rash of system issues other people are seeing, if the error they have is due to the adds and part of that error is a key logging error, then one has to wonder where the tie in is, if the error exists and these adds are infact keystroking followers that visit the adds then..... i can go on but i think ya get the point.

dave

bdink25
01-21-2012, 03:16 PM
Peter, when I try to go to a trader's web page I just get a blank screen. If I copy and paste the link onto the browser I go to the page I'm looking for. I wouldn't mind it but it doesn't do anything. Butch

Jeffo65
01-21-2012, 04:13 PM
I do not see the viglinks.

bdink25
01-21-2012, 05:23 PM
I do not see the viglinks.

Maybe it's my computer.

Pine Tar
01-24-2012, 01:41 AM
Daddy has to make some cheddar in order to spend some Cheddar. Hope it works out and keeps this place going and free. :)