PDA

View Full Version : New Look



Champs96ws
01-08-2013, 02:30 PM
We just finished installing a new STYLE for the site. Gives it a unique look.

You will need to edit your signature to have the text display. Old style had white background with black font. New style has dark background so you will need to change the font to be lighter colors.

If anyone see a problem please let me know...screen shots help.

seawolf17
01-08-2013, 02:31 PM
How very 1987 Topps of us. I like.

will22clark
01-08-2013, 02:40 PM
nice

tribefan
01-08-2013, 02:44 PM
Easier on the eyes somehow. Nice!

1987 Topps-ish! Does this mean Tim Carroll is cutting up the old website for his next art project?!

BoSoxProspector
01-08-2013, 03:08 PM
Hi,

Since other people are saying the new format is easier on the eyes, I'm wondering if I'm seeing the same thing as others... so I'll attach a screenshot. I find the white text over the "wood grain" to be very difficult to read.

http://www.thebenchtrading.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=529&d=1357676245

Thanks,
Trevor

jaxbraves
01-08-2013, 03:18 PM
Like the new design and the white is ok but I think black would be better. Now this maybe just my work PC but I have
overlaping writing over "New Post" and "Whats New" I will have to check my home PC later.

CubLife
01-08-2013, 03:25 PM
I kind of dig it. It'll take some time to get used to, but I think it will be better than it was previously.

BoSoxProspector
01-08-2013, 03:29 PM
Can anyone confirm whether what they're seeing looks like the screenshot that I have included in post #5 above?

Champs96ws
01-08-2013, 03:38 PM
Can anyone confirm whether what they're seeing looks like the screenshot that I have included in post #5 above?

Not sure why but the background for the text should be black transparent with the wood grain showing.

what browser are you using?

mj23bullsfan
01-08-2013, 03:42 PM
wow! i was kinda shocked, because i came on the site only about an hour or so ago, and now i come back and i thought i was in my kitchen cabinets, haha


looks good tho, i love the wood grain look.

now i just have to tinker with my text colors, maybe.


paul

CubLife
01-08-2013, 03:43 PM
Can anyone confirm whether what they're seeing looks like the screenshot that I have included in post #5 above?

Your shot looks like the light colored wood I see on the outside, while the part where the text is I see a darker colored wood so it's easier to read.

BoSoxProspector
01-08-2013, 04:01 PM
not sure why but the background for the text should be black transparent with the wood grain showing.

What browser are you using?

ie 9

BoSoxProspector
01-08-2013, 04:10 PM
My "Trade Manager" screen is messed up, too. The left edge of the attached image is the left edge of the screen -- note the "Navigation" links are mostly off-the-page to the left.

http://www.thebenchtrading.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=530&d=1357679274

ragtop12
01-08-2013, 04:46 PM
I personally do not like it and would rather go back to the old look. Makes it hard for me to read, not better. To be honest, probably will be on the site less due to this.

BoSoxProspector
01-08-2013, 04:51 PM
I personally do not like it and would rather go back to the old look. Makes it hard for me to read, not better. To be honest, probably will be on the site less due to this.

Unfortunately, I have to agree. I keep logging in to see whether it's been rolled back yet.

ragtop12
01-08-2013, 05:03 PM
I don't mind the trade manager much... just the forums are so contrast-y, if that's a word :p

MasonAsher2014
01-08-2013, 05:19 PM
Unfortunately, I have to agree. I keep logging in to see whether it's been rolled back yet.


I personally do not like it and would rather go back to the old look. Makes it hard for me to read, not better. To be honest, probably will be on the site less due to this.
I agree as well.

blueted007
01-08-2013, 05:23 PM
Makes you feal like you are sitting on a BENCH,I like it.

Jon

Champs96ws
01-08-2013, 05:25 PM
You can always choose the old one. Scroll down to the bottom of any screen and find the drop down menu. Select "blue" and that will be your custom setting.

MasonAsher2014
01-08-2013, 05:40 PM
Unfortunately, I have to agree. I keep logging in to see whether it's been rolled back yet.


I personally do not like it and would rather go back to the old look. Makes it hard for me to read, not better. To be honest, probably will be on the site less due to this.


You can always choose the old one. Scroll down to the bottom of any screen and find the drop down menu. Select "blue" and that will be your custom setting. You my friend, are a GOD!

Clemson2012
01-08-2013, 06:02 PM
I like the wood grain one. Very nice

mj23bullsfan
01-08-2013, 06:19 PM
Makes you feal like you are sitting on a BENCH,I like it.

Jon




BAM, you hit the nail on the head jon!!

ragtop12
01-08-2013, 06:34 PM
ahhh thanks for telling me how to restore the old one... but I guess I have to change my signature though for those who are using the wood grain

jaxbraves
01-08-2013, 06:52 PM
Just signed in at home and notices there was no Remember Me box. I was on for 10 minutes and got signed out.

Rich

JJLevitsky
01-08-2013, 07:48 PM
My "Trade Manager" screen is messed up, too. The left edge of the attached image is the left edge of the screen -- note the "Navigation" links are mostly off-the-page to the left.

http://www.thebenchtrading.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=530&d=1357679274

I am having this same problem.

Thanks,

Jeff

jflan702
01-08-2013, 08:11 PM
Mine seems to be working just fine. I really like the new look. It definitely feels like "The Bench"!

David K.
01-08-2013, 08:34 PM
Love it so far! Feels and looks like a different site......and so different then the others! Best regards, David

BucCollector
01-08-2013, 10:21 PM
I like the woodgrain but can't read white print on the dark background very easily. Changed my sig so it works for both styles.

David K.
01-08-2013, 11:26 PM
Also changed the color in my sig and now its easy to read! Best regards, David

Champs96ws
01-09-2013, 07:44 AM
Not sure why some people have the issue with TM and also the dark background not showing in the threads text area.

I'm having no issues viewing the site on Chrome or IE9 & IE8

It might have to do with your screen size. I had some issues browsing with the Ipad and that's due to everything not fitting on such a small screen size.

jaxbraves
01-09-2013, 08:46 AM
Again this morning I signed in and 15 minutes later was signed out. Is there no "Remember Me" box to click on?




Rich

rl16
01-09-2013, 08:48 AM
How can I change the color of my signature? I assume it is in setting, but I cannot find it.

Ray

katester44
01-09-2013, 09:01 AM
Thank you for this info. I was having trouble staying focused on the new layout. It looked nice, just wasn't working for me. Hopefully anybody/everybody who isn't thrilled with the change will see your note and be able to switch back to the initial layout.



You can always choose the old one. Scroll down to the bottom of any screen and find the drop down menu. Select "blue" and that will be your custom setting.

Champs96ws
01-09-2013, 09:03 AM
How can I change the color of my signature? I assume it is in setting, but I cannot find it.

Ray


Settings -> Edit Signature

http://www.thebenchtrading.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=531&d=1357740120

jaxbraves
01-09-2013, 09:35 AM
Again had to sign back in. "Remember Me" box ?????????

ragtop12
01-09-2013, 09:44 AM
Whats troubling now is people who are changing their sigs to be viewable in the new format, is NOT easy to read in the old format for those who switched back.

rl16
01-09-2013, 09:54 AM
Settings -> Edit Signature

http://www.thebenchtrading.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=531&d=1357740120

That is what I thought, but I do not have those boxes. Is there something I need to change in the signature permissions? I can use IE or Firefox.

Ray

Nevermind, found the setting I needed to change.

stephj24
01-09-2013, 10:44 AM
Love the new look, thanks Pete for yet again another great addition to an already great site.

Steph

Champs96ws
01-10-2013, 09:06 AM
Anyone else see anything out of place graphics wise?

I want to send the programmer a list of issues later today. Here is what I have so far.

1) Missing remember me box by log in
2) Text area not dark for some browsers + TM tool box shifted to the left.

Will also try to find a fix for smaller screen sizes.

JamesNevans
01-10-2013, 10:32 AM
Anyone else see anything out of place graphics wise?

I want to send the programmer a list of issues later today. Here is what I have so far.

1) Missing remember me box by log in
2) Text area not dark for some browsers + TM tool box shifted to the left.

Will also try to find a fix for smaller screen sizes.

I love the new look. The "What's New" bleeds over the New Posts button.

Champs96ws
01-10-2013, 10:43 AM
I love the new look. The "What's New" bleeds over the New Posts button.

That's due to your screen size. Something we will try and fix...but don't know if it can be.

Flyers16
01-10-2013, 05:10 PM
You can always choose the old one. Scroll down to the bottom of any screen and find the drop down menu. Select "blue" and that will be your custom setting.

Thanks for the info. I - like some of the others here - was having a hard time reading with the woodgrain background and the font.

VintageHeros
01-10-2013, 10:27 PM
What color font is best for signatures to be easily read in both the new and the old color schemes?

Also, hot links show in blue font by default, can this be changed? The blue is hard to read with the grain background.

Thanks! Rob

Champs96ws
01-11-2013, 07:01 PM
New update installed with some fixes.

Remember me box has returned.

Can anyone having issues with the text area not being dark - BoSoxProspector and JJLevitsky - check and see if you still have this issue.

JJLevitsky
01-11-2013, 07:27 PM
New update installed with some fixes.

Remember me box has returned.

Can anyone having issues with the text area not being dark - BoSoxProspector and JJLevitsky - check and see if you still have this issue.

Text area was fine with me. It is the screen size for trade manager that was my bigger concern. I had already switched back to the old version. Trying the new now.

Thanks,

Jeff

2000Doubles
01-13-2013, 06:16 PM
Just wanted to say thanks for all the work on the site. Love the new look!

854Trav
01-13-2013, 06:32 PM
How do you get the new look?

Champs96ws
01-14-2013, 11:42 AM
How do you get the new look?

Should be the new default, but if not...

Scroll down to the bottom of screen and on the right hand side there is a drop down menu. Select The Bench from the options.


****ANYONE ELSE HAVING ISSUES WITH THE NEW THEME****

anglinomics
01-14-2013, 01:04 PM
Someone asked me about the Remember Me check box. It didn't appear on their screen. The are using IE. If it helps, it was Loyalty32.

Champs96ws
01-14-2013, 01:57 PM
Someone asked me about the Remember Me check box. It didn't appear on their screen. The are using IE. If it helps, it was Loyalty32.

That's already fixed.

JJLevitsky
01-14-2013, 02:32 PM
Still have the trade manager problem.

Thanks,

Jeff

anglinomics
01-14-2013, 03:22 PM
When your in the Trade Manager, there is a drop down menu for Bench Tools. Could the Member List be added to the available tolls there. I very frquently am using the Trade Manager and now have to skip over to Forum and use that drop down Bench Tools menu to get to the Member List. This would really help.

jaxbraves
01-18-2013, 06:14 AM
In the trade manager at the bottom there now is a list of forgotten trades. What's up with that? Most are completed.

anglinomics
01-19-2013, 05:25 AM
When I log in I get the "Blue" format. How do I get the default set to "The Bench". And do all users have access to "Blue". If so, I think some would like it better.

anglinomics
01-23-2013, 07:36 PM
I was trying to upload a file, but it says it's an invalid file. It is a .jpg so I don't know what's wrong. The thread is here;

http://www.thebenchtrading.com/showthread.php?403100-Sports-Illustated-Football-s-Greatest-amp-Illustrated-History-of-the-Dodgers-10-each&p=3371345#post3371345

But the bigger issue is how can I get it to work?

pac_rat_76
01-24-2013, 01:33 PM
What new look? Nothing has changed for me except the log in screen. After that it is all the same.

dp33
01-24-2013, 01:38 PM
I was trying to upload a file, but it says it's an invalid file. It is a .jpg so I don't know what's wrong. The thread is here;

http://www.thebenchtrading.com/showthread.php?403100-Sports-Illustated-Football-s-Greatest-amp-Illustrated-History-of-the-Dodgers-10-each&p=3371345#post3371345

But the bigger issue is how can I get it to work?

I'm not sure why you're having problems. I just copied the link off your picture, wrapped IMG tags around it, and it seems to work fine.


http://i484.photobucket.com/albums/rr206/anglinomics/SIFootball_zps49176ed8.jpg

stephj24
01-24-2013, 03:19 PM
What new look? Nothing has changed for me except the log in screen. After that it is all the same.

Scroll all the way to the bottom of the page and on the bottom left is a pull down where you can select the Bench's new skin, it's called The Bench.

Champs96ws
01-24-2013, 03:26 PM
Clear for Browser Cache (It store website images to help load faster, but it doesn't update them if needed until you clear the history)

anglinomics
01-24-2013, 04:27 PM
The link you copied isn't the same link when I copy it.


I'm not sure why you're having problems. I just copied the link off your picture, wrapped IMG tags around it, and it seems to work fine.


http://i484.photobucket.com/albums/rr206/anglinomics/SIFootball_zps49176ed8.jpg

pac_rat_76
01-24-2013, 08:28 PM
Scroll all the way to the bottom of the page and on the bottom left is a pull down where you can select the Bench's new skin, it's called The Bench.

Ok, now how to I get it to stay that way? I changed it, logged out, realized I forgot to do something, logged back in and it was the same way as before.

dp33
01-24-2013, 11:15 PM
The link you copied isn't the same link when I copy it.


What link are you trying to copy? Or what link do you get when you copy it? I'm not sure if you're saying I'm using the wrong link, or if you're saying that something different happens when you use the same link.

anglinomics
01-25-2013, 10:18 AM
What link are you trying to copy? Or what link do you get when you copy it? I'm not sure if you're saying I'm using the wrong link, or if you're saying that something different happens when you use the same link.

Here is what you posted: "[XIMG]http://i484.photobucket.com/albums/rr206/anglinomics/SIFootball_zps49176ed8.jpg[/IMG]"

Here is what I have posted: "[Xurl]http://s484.beta.photobucket.com/user/anglinomics/media/SIFootball_zps49176ed8.jpg.html?sort=3&o=1[/url]"

I put the X into the links so it would show the link. First thing is I'm getting a beta site and there are other differences.

anglinomics
01-29-2013, 05:50 AM
Here is what you posted: "[XIMG]http://i484.photobucket.com/albums/rr206/anglinomics/SIFootball_zps49176ed8.jpg[/IMG]"

Here is what I have posted: "[Xurl]http://s484.beta.photobucket.com/user/anglinomics/media/SIFootball_zps49176ed8.jpg.html?sort=3&o=1[/url]"

I put the X into the links so it would show the link. First thing is I'm getting a beta site and there are other differences.

I have figured this out. Photobucket has a beta site which I was using. When I switched back to the regular site I can get pictures. As fas as uploading pictures through the advanced features in thread editing, there must be a size limit? Not sure about the latter.

JJLevitsky
01-31-2013, 06:47 PM
My "Trade Manager" screen is messed up, too. The left edge of the attached image is the left edge of the screen -- note the "Navigation" links are mostly off-the-page to the left.

http://www.thebenchtrading.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=530&d=1357679274

Still having this problem. Tried to get in at work today with a 22 inch screen and had the same problem so it isnt the small monitor on my laptop. Still using the old one til this gets fixed.

Thanks,

Jeff